Live Video Interview Backroom

As with other areas in Recollective, Live Video Interviews benefit from a backroom feature that allows administrators to communicate with each other in a private space. In order for Clients to be able to join the backroom, the Collaborate in Backroom permission must be enabled from within the  Permissions section of the Study Settings.

Because Live Video Interviews are designed to be a one-on-one experience between a participant and a meeting host, backroom participants are not connected to the meeting with a video feed. Instead, they can watch and listen to the meeting, and use the backroom chat and backroom audio channel to communicate with each other and with the meeting host.

Backroom audio channels are an optional feature and can be disabled for the Live Video Interviews Activity Setup page.
The backroom of Live Video Interviews is available in a separate tab within the chat window:  

As many as 48 people can be in the backroom of a Live Video Interview at any given time. 
Administrators in the backroom are only able to leave backroom comments in the chat, while the meeting host can toggle back and forth between the back and front room chat to leave messages visible to the participant. Everyone in the backroom, as well as the meeting host, can see messages posted in the front room chat as well as the backroom chat (only the participant is unable to see the backroom chat). 
Meeting hosts, by default, are in the front room chat so they can quickly send messages or surface prepared content items to participants. Toggling to the backroom is easy and can be done by selecting the backroom tab within the chat window. You can also switch to the backroom chat by selecting Backroom Reply from the drop-down menu on an admin within the directory:

Even when posting a backroom message that @mentions a specific administrator, all administrators in the backroom will be able to see the message. Using @mentions allows you to target the message to a specific administrator, letting them know that a response/action is required of them, or that you are responding to a question/request they asked of you.
Once the meeting host leaves a backroom comment, the chat function will remain set to the backroom until the host manually changes it back to the front room by selecting the front room tab within the chat window. 

It's easy to tell whether a chat is set to the front or backroom based on the colour: 
  • The backroom chat box always appears in red (as in the image below)

  • The front room chat box will always appear in white and include the “post prepared content” option (as seen in the image below)

Analysts or Moderators in the backroom can take over as host at any point during the meeting by opening the directory and selecting Host Meeting. This option will only be available if there is currently no host for the meeting.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.