Screen sharing in Live Video Activities
Recollective's Live Video Interview Activity and Live Group Chat Activity support screen sharing for both the Host and the participant. Hosts can share their screen at anytime, while participants must be invited by the Host in order to share their screen.This article covers:
- Screen Share Control
- Screen Sharing & Preview
- Meeting Recordings with Screen Share
- Browser and Device Support
During a Live Video Activity, hosts will see the screen sharing option on the bottom of the screen next to the camera toggle and chat button:
Once selected, the host can choose to share their own screen or request that the participant share theirs. Participants will not see this control as they must be invited to share their screen.
If invited, a pop-up message will appear to the participant asking them to share their screen:
If Screen Sharing Permissions have not been enabled for your operating system or browser, you will receive an error message prompting you to provide these permissions:
The process for enabling these permissions will vary slightly depending on the browser and operating system that you are using. Instructions for enabling these permissions on a variety of operating systems and browsers can be found HERE.
If you have a single monitor or display and plan on sharing your screen with the participant, make sure that you minimize the chat and directory first so that the participants do not see any backroom comments or observers.
After selecting Start Sharing, you will be asked to select a screen, window, or tab to share. If you have a single monitor or display and plan on sharing your entire screen, make sure that you minimize the chat and directory first so that the participants do not see any backroom comments or observers.
You will get confirmation that your screen is being shared when your active share appears in the center Spotlight view and the other attendees' videos appear across the top. If you wish to return to Gallery view while screen sharing, simply select the View icon > Gallery View.
The screen share will appear behind a gray overlay to the person who is sharing. The gray overlay prevents the infinite repeating mirror effect one gets when sharing the screen on which the meeting is located. Participants, other Hosts, and backroom observers will see the shared screen without the gray overlay.
If you wish to view your screen share as other meeting attendees see it, click on the Preview button. This will disable the gray overlay, but may result in the unpleasant mirror effect if you are sharing the screen on which the meeting appears.
Participant's webcam video will remain visible to the Host and backroom observers. While screen sharing, the Host or participant can navigate to other windows, browsers, and/or tabs on their device. The browser and tab where the meeting is occurring must remain open for the duration of the meeting.
The screen share will end when the Stop Screen Sharing option, or the Screen button is selected.
With this setup, you won’t have to keep the Live Video Interview interface in view. You can move it or resize it and it will stay on top of the windows you’re using as stimulus.
Upon completion of the meeting, all shared screens are included in the final recording with the participant's webcam inset along the bottom. The recording can be exported with or without the host's webcam which will also appear nested in the corner when included.