Skip to main content

How to Replace Participants

Use this article to learn how to replace unresponsive Participants by removing or deactivating them, and onboarding replacement Participants.

Replacing Participants involves a two-step workflow:

  1. Remove or deactivate the existing Participant

  2. Onboard the replacement Participant(s)

Step 1: Remove or Deactivate the Participants to be Replaced

To remove a Participant from a Study while preserving their response data, Analysts can deactivate their account across the site (Option A). Alternatively, Analysts or Moderators can remove participants from a specific study (Option B).

Option A: Deactivate a Panelist Account (Site Level)

Note: Deactivating a panelist disables their account across the entire site and prevents them from logging in. Response data is preserved within studies.

Navigation: Analysts can go to Site Administration > Panelists > Search Panelists

  1. Locate the panelist and click on the dropdown arrow next to their name, select Edit

  2. On their panelist edit page, select the Inactive radio button below their name

  3. Click Save

Option B: Remove a Participant from a Study (Study Level)

Note: Removing a participant from a study removes their access to that specific study while preserving study data and site access.

Navigation: Analysts or Moderators can go to Participant Directory > View All

  1. Locate the participant in the list

  2. Hover over their profile and click the dropdown arrow beside their name

  3. Select Remove from Study from the drop-down menu

Step 2: Onboard Replacement Participants

To onboard replacement participants, Analysts or Moderators can:

  1. Add their replacement participant(s) to the study by conducting a Bulk Import

  2. Send Email Invitations to these new participants

Phase 1: Bulk Import Replacement Participants

Navigation: Analysts or Moderators can go to the Participant Directory > Add

  1. Click Start Import on the Bulk Import a Spreadsheet pane

  2. Upload your spreadsheet file

  3. Review and verify column data (e.g., Email Address, Segments, etc…)

  4. Click Continue to verify the data

  5. A set of Import Settings will appear. Click Start Import to conduct the import

Phase 2: Send Email Invitations

Note: After conducting the Bulk Import, you’ll land back in the Participant Directory. You can click on the Send Invitations link located in the gold banner above the participant list. If you do navigate away from this page you can follow the steps listed below.

Navigation: Analysts or Moderators can go to Participant Directory > Add

  1. Click Compose Invitation under the Send Email Invitations header

  2. Under the Recipients header, select Added but not yet invited

  3. (Optional): Select or customize your email message template in the Message Templates section

  4. Click Preview

  5. Click Send Now to send immediately, or Send Later to send at a specific date and time

Data Retention Rules

  • Preserved Response Data: Deactivating a Panelist or removing a Participant from a study preserves all response data they previously contributed. Their contributions will remain linked to their account or an inactive profile.

  • Permanent Data Deletion: If you need to permanently delete a Participant's response data rather than preserving it, refer to the documentation on deleting contributions from inactive participants.

Still have questions?

If you have questions or feedback about this article, contact the Recollective Helpdesk at [email protected].

Did this answer your question?