Skip to main content

How to Deactivate a Profile Field

Use this article to learn how to deactivate a Profile Field.

Profile Fields store demographic and profiling information about panelists in Recollective. This data can be used to create Smart Segments for limiting Tasks or Activities, or for filtering response data.

Deactivating a Profile Field keeps the data set organized without losing historical research or reference data. You may wish to archive a Profile Field when the data is no longer needed for current projects, but could be valuable for future research.

Who can deactivate a Profile Field?

To manage, deactivate, or delete a Profile Field, you must be assigned the Analyst role.

Difference Between Deactivating and Deleting

Available actions depend on whether the Profile Field contains data:

  • Deactivate: Available for Profile Fields that have received responses. Deactivating preserves the data for historical reference while removing the field from active use.

  • Delete: Available ONLY for Profile Fields that have not received responses or do not contain panelist data. Deleted fields cannot be recovered so exercise caution if deleting a Profile Field.

Steps to Deactivate a Profile Field

  1. Analysts can go to Site Administration > Panelists

  2. Select the Profile Fields pane

  3. Click on the specific Profile Field card you wish to modify

  4. Click the drop-down arrow in the bottom right corner of the card:

    • Select Deactivate if the field contains responses

      1. In the new pop-up, select Deactivate Profile Field

    • If the field has no responses and you wish to permanently remove the Profile Field, select Delete

      1. Select Confirm Delete?

Still have questions?

If you have questions or feedback about this article, contact the Recollective Helpdesk at [email protected].

Did this answer your question?