Skip to main content

Site Settings: Privacy

Learn how to configure Privacy Settings in Recollective in order to control how Participants appear to one another, to Clients, and to Analysts and Moderators.

In the Site Administration area, under Settings, Analysts will find configuration options and the Privacy Settings sub-section. Here, Analysts can locate and assign the default visibility of each user role on the site.

These settings will establish the defaults for Study Settings > Privacy in all subsequently created studies, however, they can be overridden at the study level.

Privacy Settings pane highlighted within Site Administration

How Participants Appear to Each Other

For participants, you’ll be able to control whether they have access to the Participant Directory and Profile pages in addition to how they’ll see each other’s displayed identity (e.g. Username only).

On a site where privacy is a concern, it is strongly advised that you keep participant access to these areas disabled. Likewise, you can also reduce the personal identifier visibility settings to Unique ID only.

In addition, you can control how Administrators will appear to participants.

How participants appear to one another and how Admins appear to participants settings with the Directory and Profile pages

Warning: By default, participants and clients see participants by username only, and other administrators (Analysts and Moderators) see participants by their full name. Administrators are identified by their first name and last initial.

How Participants Appear to Clients

Settings for Client accounts on the site follow the same pattern. You can control what participant identifying information they see in studies, from full participant names and profile photos to just ID numbers.

How participants appear to Clients settings with the Directory, Profile pages and Profile photos settings selected

Note: Clients will have access to the Participant Directory, Profile pages and Profile photos by default.

How Participants Appear to Analysts and Moderators

Analysts and Moderators can always view participants' full details in a Study if they wish, but the online display of participant names can be customized for convenience. For example, it may be convenient to only see people's usernames so as to help reinforce the use of just usernames in public comments.

For instances where there needs to be tighter control over participants' information being available to Moderators, enabling Limit moderator access to PII will surface dedicated privacy controls specific to the Moderator role.

Limit Moderator access to PII highlighted within the Analysts & Moderators section in Site Privacy settings

Dedicated Moderators privacy settings with Directory, Profile pages and Profile photos selected. Limit moderator access to PII selected under the Analysts header

🗣️ Still have questions or want to leave feedback on how we can do better? Contact us at [email protected].

Did this answer your question?