Skip to main content

How to Remove a Participant from a Live Group Chat

Use this article to manage live group chat participants, including removing participants during an active session and unblocking previously removed participants so they can re-enter.

Who can remove or unblock participants in a live group chat activity?

Analysts and Moderators will have the ability to remove or unblock participants from the Participant Directory of a Live Group Chat.

Remove a Participant from a Live Group Chat

Analysts and Moderators can remove participants from an ongoing live group chat (for example, if you over-recruit participants and all invitees show up).

  1. Enter the front room or back room of the live group chat activity.

  2. Open the Participant Menu.

  3. Hover over the name of the participant you want to remove.

  4. Click the downward-facing arrow next to their name.

  5. (Optional) Click Send Private Message to message the participant and inform them why they are being removed.

  6. Click Remove.

  7. Click Confirm Remove.

Once removed, a message appears on the participant's screen stating that their participation in the activity has ended. The removed participant is blocked from re-entering the activity unless they are unblocked by an Analyst or Moderator.

Unblock a Participant in a Live Group Chat

If you need to re-admit a previously removed participant to a live group chat activity, you can unblock them.

  1. Enter the front room or back room of the live group chat activity.

  2. Open the Participant Menu.

  3. Hover over the name of the participant you want to unblock.

  4. Click the downward-facing arrow next to their name.

  5. Click unblock.

After an Analyst or Moderator clicks unblock, the participant must refresh their web browser page to re-enter the live group chat activity.

Still Have Questions?

If you still have questions or need assistance with Recollective network configuration, contact support at helpdesk.recollective.com.

Did this answer your question?